找回密码
 注册
查看: 563|回复: 0

advice for foundation software

[复制链接]
发表于 2009-9-7 10:20:04 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
advice for foundation software
hello all,
i am a recent graduate and have started my engineering career by designing foundations for a pre-engineered building. my company owns a very old version of pca mats as well as an old version of enercalc that has not been very helpful. the moment reactions are extremely large (1000k*ft+) as well as shearing forces that become moments when piers are necessary. i have also been given the task of finding a new software that is user friendly and technically available if questions arise. if anyone has any advice for a novice i would greately appreciate it.
check out the risa family of products.
if you "heard" it on the internet, it's guilty until proven innocent. - dcs
risafoot is not bad.  it is easy to use and is fairly inexpensive.  it is good for spread footings.  if you need to get into mats and combined footings you will have to go with something else.  they have a new risafoundation that will design mats and combined footings.  i would be interested in hearing some feedback on that program.  the only problem i have with risa is there help manuals.  they seem to be incomplete; however, they have always been great with technical support when i call or e-mail them a question.  let us know what you decide and how you like it.
for the footings for pre-eng buildings, we generally try to use hairpins for the horizontal loads- ties everything to the slab.
try foundation3d and mat3d.. these are good softwares