几何尺寸与公差论坛

找回密码
 注册
查看: 591|回复: 0

wood screws

[复制链接]
发表于 2009-9-16 23:07:34 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
wood screws
i'm an intermediate engineer who has worked almost exclusively with steel and concrete.  i am now working on the design of a curtain wall/window system where the clips that connect the vertical mullions to the structure are fastened to wood blocking with wood screws.  i found the allowable withdrawl and shear values of the screws and looked over the nds manual so i think i'm headed in the right direction but i have 3 items that i'm concerned about.
  the first is that i have looked at all the factors and they should be 1.0.....except i'm not sure about load duration (cd)i want this to be 1.0 also but i'm not convinced this is correct due to the fact that my load is essentially from wind(asce7-98).
    secondly because my load is due to wind am i allowed a 33% increase in stresses?
    third..am i correct in using an interaction equation with actual withdrawl & shear values divided by thier respective allowables if this is less than or equal to 1.0 fastener is ok?
   thanks in advance for any help...if there is a good reference for these questions let me know
check out our whitepaper library.
i typically use a safety factor of at least 3 and up to 5 for fasteners in direct tension that are not "through-bolts", which would include screws, wedge anchors, epoxy anchors and the like.
in wood, you have to be concerned about several things.  first, wood will shrink in a controlled environment and expand when wet.  these actions change the fastener engagement characteristics.  secondly, a curtain wall system is subjected to significant temperature variations and the associated thermal movement tend to work pretty hard on the fasteners.  third, if you are not using stainless steel fasteners, you can count on some corrosion which initially helps pullout values, but if there is loss of cross section can cause fastener failure.