几何尺寸与公差论坛

找回密码
 注册
查看: 4840|回复: 1

Why is Visual C++ 2010 still calling Orphan_all when a vector is destroyed wi

[复制链接]
发表于 2013-11-21 13:34:33 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
Why is Visual C++ 2010 still calling Orphan_all when a vector is destroyed with _ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL=0 ?

Hi ho, Visual C++ newbie here.   (I came up to speed on Visual C++ 6 somewhat ages ago, and have used  the IDE sporadically since then, but still don't feel comfortable with  it.  Give me a good old commandline and get off my lawn, that's my  attitude.)

I'm helping out on an app built with Visual C++ 2010 (it's a solution  file with 20 subprojects), and noticed something odd: even  though _ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL and _SECURE_SCL are both defined to zero in  the project's properties, adding /FAs for one of  the .cpp files still shows calls to checked iterator stuff, e.g.

call    DWORD PTR __imp_?_Orphan_all@_Container_base0@std@@QAEXXZ

I've verified (with printf) that both defines are zero.    Furthermore, these calls seem very fragile; if I delete seemingly  trivial amounts of code from the function involved, the calls to  Orphan_all vanish.

So: why is Visual C++ 2010 still calling Orphan_all when a vector is destroyed with _ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL=0 ?

(Also, I've also heard that the cl.exe itself in windows sdk v7.1 and  several games all seem to import  _Orphan_all@_Container_base0@std@@QAEXXZ from msvcp100.dll, which seems  odd for released products.  What should msvcp100.dll's  _Orphan_all@_Container_base0@std@@QAEXXZ  do -- is it a no-op, or does it actually do things, like the one in  msvcp100d.dll?)

[EDIT: asked at http://stackoverflow.com/questions/11572845/why-is-visual-c-2010-still-calling-orphan-all-when-a-vector-is-destroyed-with and   got excellent answers within minutes.  That site is on fire!  I now  suspect that the optimizer just missed removing a few calls that it  should have known would be no-ops.]